1. K-State home
  2. »APDesign
  3. »Architecture
  4. »About
  5. »Accreditation

College of Architecture, Planning and Design



Professional Degree Program (Master of Architecture)

A comprehensive five-year plus curriculum leading to a NAAB-accredited Master of Architecture degree

In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted a 6-year, 3-year, or 2-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may consist of a pre-professional undergraduate degree and a professional graduate degree that, when earned sequentially, constitute an accredited professional education. However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

Kansas State University, College of Architecture Planning and Design, Department of Architecture offers a NAAB-accredited Master of Architecture degree (140 undergraduate credits + 30 graduate credits).

Next accreditation visit: 2017

2010 Architecture Program Report

NAAB Visiting Team Final Report 2011

The 2014 NAAB conditions and Procedures for Professional Degree programs in Architecture.

Learning Culture + Social Equity

NAAB Annual Statistical Report 2008

NAAB Annual Statistical Report 2009

NAAB Annual Statistical Report 2010

NAAB Annual Statistical Report 2011

NAAB Annual Statistical Report 2012

NAAB Annual Statistical Report 2013

NAAB Annual Statistical Report 2014

NAAB Annual Statistical Report 2015

NAAB Annual Statistical Report 2016