1. K-State home
  2. »APDesign
  3. »Architecture
  4. »Awards

College of Architecture, Planning and Design



K-State Coffman Chair for University Distinguished Teaching Scholars | September 25 deadline

The K-State Coffman Chair award honors faculty members who have made significant contributions to students' undergraduate experiences in a bachelor's degree program. The selection process begins at the department level. Eligible faculty members prepare and submit their portfolios to the department head, the department reviews the portfolios, and then each department head forwards one nomination to the dean by Sept. 17. Each department will set its own internal deadline for receipt of portfolios from the faculty.

Each dean then reviews the portfolios submitted by the departments in his/her college, and may submit two nominations to the provost by the deadline of Sept. 25.

This award is an opportunity to recognize the outstanding scholarship of teaching and learning exhibited by faculty members in our departments and colleges. The designation of University Distinguished Teaching Scholar is a permanent title and honors not only the individual faculty member but also the department and college in which he or she teaches. The year as Coffman Chair provides an opportunity for the individual selected to share ideas and strategies about teaching and learning with the university at large.

For the eligibility criteria, the nomination and selection process, timeline and portfolio required click here.


NCARB Award | September 29 deadline

Faculty members in architecture schools that are located in a U.S. jurisdiction and that have a program that is accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) are eligible to submit NCARB Award proposals. Faculty members in program that are candidates for NAAB accreditation and that are located in a U.S. jurisdiction are also eligible to submit proposals. [more]

A total of $100,000 will be available for up to three Awards. The NCARB Award Jury will review all eligible proposals and determine the award amounts for each NCARB Award. NCARB reserves the right not to make any awards based on the quality of proposals and may not award the full $100,000 available. [more

To apply click here.


Best of Design Awards Architect's Newspaper

The Architect's Newspaper is proud to announce its third annual Best of Design Awards, a unique project-based award program that showcases great buildings and building elements. 

Entrants are invited to submit completed works in nine categories that reflect AN's editorial coverage as well as the interests and obsessions of our readers. [more]


K-State Excellence in Engagement Award

Established in 2011 by the Office of Provost, the Kansas State University Excellence in Engagement awards are given to highlight excellence in engaged scholarship (via research, teaching, and/or outreach).  These awards recognize KSRE and campus faculty initiatives that demonstrate innovative and/or sustained efforts in university/community engagement positively impacting both university and community partners. 

1. The engaged scholarship benefits the lives of individuals, families, communities, and/or society as well as positively impacting university faculty and students;

2. The engaged scholarship is created and sustained through mutual collaboration between university faculty and external communities;

3. The scholarship is communicated through scholarly publication, academic presentation, public scholarship, and/or community presentation; and

4. The engaged scholarship creates or applies disciplinary knowledge.   

1. A plaque and $2,500 presented to each winning engagement partnership.

2. Awards will be presented and recognized at the university’s spring engagement celebration.

3. Winners of the Kansas State University Excellence in Engagement Award will be showcased in university news stories throughout the year.           

4. The award winners will be highlighted as one of Kansas State University Signature Partnerships.           

Winners will automatically be considered for the national APLU C. Peter Magrath Community Engagement Award and Outreach Scholarship W.K. Kellogg Foundation Engagement Award.

A review panel of engaged campus and community representatives will review the application portfolios based on the criteria listed above. 

For more information click here.


The Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award

The Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award recognizes one senior faculty member (post-tenure or mid-to-late career at institutions without tenure) each year for exemplary engaged scholarship, including leadership in advancing students’ civic learning, conducting community-based research, fostering reciprocal community partnerships, building institutional commitments to service-learning and civic engagement, and other means of enhancing higher education’s contributions to the public good.

Selection criteria:

  • Evidence of deeply engaged, high-quality academic work: demonstrated integration of civic and community engagement in one’s teaching, research, and/or service as appropriate to one’s context and roles (this might include, but is not limited to, teaching undergraduate or graduate service-learning courses, conducting community-based participatory research, developing departmental or institutional engagement programs and curricula, and/or studying the impact of public engagement).
  • Evidence of community collaboration and change: demonstrated commitment and capacity to develop and sustain reciprocal community partnerships and to contribute to positive change on issues of public concern (examples include ongoing work with community members to design, implement, and improve engagement initiatives, recognition of partners as co-educators, evaluation results that show benefits for communities as well as students, support for multifaceted partnerships focused on particular public issues, and research-based collaborations).
  • Evidence of institutional impact: demonstrated leadership in developing cultures, programs, and/or policies that promote meaningful engagement on one’s campus, within higher education, or in one’s discipline (through, for example, efforts aimed at redesigning curriculum, enhancing faculty development, recognizing engagement in faculty hiring, tenure, and promotion, or fostering common vision and collaboration across units or institutions)

For more information click here.