1. K-State home
  2. »APDesign
  3. »Interior Architecture & Product Design
  4. »Research and Creative Activity
  5. »2012-2013
  6. »Research and Creative Activity

Department of Interior Architecture & Product Design

Interior Architecture & Product Design

2011-2012 K-State ARCC King Medal Winner: Lyndsee Johnson, MIAPD, for master's thesis entitled "Pediatric Palliative Care House"


Lyndsee Johnson King Medal ProjectThousands of American children die of terminal illnesses and thousands more continue to live with life threatening diseases every day. Only 10 to 20 percent of these children receive hospice or palliative care. Many children die in emergency rooms or intensive care units of hospitals, where the focus is on treatment, rather than the patient's comfort and quality of life. This is because most of these sick children do not qualify for hospice or palliative care. Only ten percent of the over 4,000 hospice and palliative care facilities in the United States accept children. This ten percent is still mainly focused on the care of adults and does not take into account the special needs of a dying child. Since pediatric palliative care is a recent innovation in the United States, more research is still needed to understand the requirements and needs of the sick children and their families.

Research Objectives:

  • Research Hospice facilities in the US and Europe to understand the facility requirements and set up;
  • Understand the need and requirements for sick children and their family;
  • Investigate the requirements for a patient suite for children where they will feel comfortable by having their parent nearby throughout the night, but still have some privacy.
  • Define the facility needs and requirements for a specialized palliative patient care facility for children with limited life expectancy.

(The ARCC King Student Medal for Excellence in Architectural + Environmental Design Research is named in honor of the late Jonathan King, co-founder and first president of the Architectural Research Centers Consortium (ARCC), this award is given to one student per ARCC member college, school, institute, or unit.

Selection of recipients is based upon criteria that acknowledge innovation, integrity, and scholarship in architectural and/or environmental design research.)