Bowman Design Forum

The annual Bowman Design Forum, sponsored by BBN Architects Inc. of Manhattan, was conceived by longtime local architect Brent Bowman as a way to bring noted architects to the Flint Hills, using the work produced by mid-level architecture students to spark a conversation about design, context and the environment. One student from each of the department's third-year fall studio sections is selected to present a design project to the visiting design jury.


2022 Nominees:

Andrew Luttrell, Assistant Professor Beighle, $1,500 Honor Award
Natalie Bell, Assistant Professor Lee, $500 Merit Award
Victor Boyda, Assistant Professor Kwon, $500 Merit Award
Tom Murillo, Assistant Professor Fein, $500 Merit Award
Miguel Perez, Visiting Assistant Professor Molina, $500 Merit Award

Previous Bowman Forum Finalists


Manko Design Competition


The MANKO Design Competition fosters innovation in envelope systems in K-State's Comprehensive Architectural Design Studio V, which focuses on holistic design of the building — from a sophisticated understanding of space down to the development of architectural details and deployment of systems. The fourth-year studio faculty develop a diverse range of project briefs of varying programs, sites and scales.

One student from each of the department's fourth-year studio sections is selected to present a unique design project to the visiting design jury. In highlighting innovation and construction technology, the competition recognizes a defining strength of APDesign’s students: to synthesize the worlds of technical imperatives and thoughtful place-making.


2022 Nominees:

Brittany Coudriet, "Ahupua'a Magistrate's Land Court and Community Space," Associate Professor Genevieve Baudoin, $5,000 1st place scholarship
Libby Couture and Lily Murray, "Reclaiming Community," Assistant Professor Grant Alford, $1,250 Runner-Up Scholarships
Shelby Thornton, Associate Professor Michael Gibson
Nikki Wilken, BNIM studio
Colton Parmley, Visiting Assistant Professor Cameron Tross

Previous MANKO Competition Finalists


Heintzelman Prize


Named for long-time professor J. Cranston Heintzelman, the Heintzelman Prize is presented annually for outstanding individual design achievements by students in the final semester of the professional Master of Architecture degree program. One student in each of the fifth-year design studio sections is selected by the faculty as a Heintzelman nominee, and a winner is then selected by a distinguished jury. The Heintzelman Prize has been awarded by the faculty each year since Heintzelman's retirement in 1983.


2022 Nominees:

Matt Eichler, "Manufactured Reuse," Associate Professor Genevieve Baudoin, Prize Winner
Carl Glosenger, "Convergence," Professor Bob Condia
Haneen Abu-Sherbi, "Landform," Assistant Professor Grant Alford

Previous Heintzelman Prize Winners & Nominees


Kremer Award


The Kremer Prize is awarded for outstanding collaborative design achievements by students in the final semester of the professional Master of Architecture program. The Kremer Prize is named after Eugene Kremer, a longtime head of the architecture department. As an educator and adviser, Kremer fostered in thousands of students a passion for learning and a desire to achieve excellence in all areas of responsibility. While working throughout his tenure to promote strong and lasting relationships between practicing architects and the college's students, Kremer also created opportunities to engage students in collaborative activities, both on and off campus.


2022 Award Winner:

Kansas City Design Center Studio, "Kessler Park Water Reservoir," Professor Vladimir Krstic's studio

Previous Kremer Award Winners

Design+Make Studio


Design+Make is an Academic partnership between a Kansas State University capstone design studio and el dorado inc. This studio explores conceptually driven, expertly crafted architecture at all scales of work, with all types of clients and in all locations. It is a research-based architectural enterprise where graduate students from diverse backgrounds develop their passion for innovative problem-solving, focused on community needs.

Design+Make Studio Awards