Department News

University's 2014-2015 Coffman chair values storytelling, technology in lecture class

It takes a passionate storyteller to engage students in subjects that may be considered monotonous.

Mick Charney, associate professor of architecture in Kansas State University's College of Architecture, Planning & Design, is such a storyteller. He is the university's 2014-2015 Coffman chair for distinguished teaching scholars.

"I have an opportunity to open students' eyes to worlds of wisdom and an infinite cosmos of possibilities," Charney said. "I claim a moment in time that can impact the rest of their lives — personally and professionally."

The Coffman chair for distinguished teaching scholars was created in 1995 to highlight Kansas State University's commitment to excellence in undergraduate teaching and learning. A faculty member acknowledged as a leading teaching scholar is appointed to the chair for one academic year, but all who are selected retain the title of university distinguished teaching scholar throughout their careers. (more)


Congratulations to the 2014 graduating class!

2014 class photo

Photo credit_ Brianna Sprague, Events Technologist APDesign



Photo of Kremer Prize winners, Elias Logan and Michael Luczak, presenting work by Department Head Matthew Knox

APDesign honors top projects by graduating architecture students

Outstanding design work by fifth-year students in the architecture program at Kansas State University's College of Architecture, Planning & Design, or APDesign, has been recognized with the Heintzelman and Kremer prizes.

The Heintzelman Prize is awarded annually for outstanding individual design achievements by students in the final semester of the professional Master of Architecture degree program. The Kremer Prize is awarded for outstanding collaborative design achievements by students in the final semester of the professional Master of Architecture program.

The 2014 Heintzelman Prize winner is Travis Shockley, master's graduate in architecture, Marion, for his project "EPA Lab," which was done in the fifth-year architectural design studio led by Michael Gibson, assistant professor of architecture.

The 2014 Kremer Prize winners, all master's graduates in architecture, are Lillian Cooper, Atchison; John Joseph Nicolas, Garnett; Alexander Meyer, Leawood; Elias Logan and Nick Ruggeri, both from Manhattan; Brandon Christian, Mulvane; Meredith Dabney, Topeka; Liliana Torres, Pembroke Pines, Florida; Nathaniel Cook, Holland, Michigan; Michael Luczak, Kansas City, Missouri; and Andrew Zelenak, Liberty, Missouri. The group won for their project "Urban Acupuncture — Colonia Doctores," which was conducted in the fifth-year architectural design studio led by Javier Sanchez, the college's Victor L. Regnier visiting chair in architecture. (more)


small town logo

Small Town Studio awarded K-State Engagement honor

The College of Architecture, Planning & Design’s Small Town Studio Eureka Project has been selected to receive the K-State Excellence in Engagement award. A review committee composed of both on and off campus stakeholders was very impressed with the Studio’s close two-year collaboration with stakeholders and citizens of Eureka, Kansas. The Studio was praised for the range and immediacy of issues addressed, the development of strong partnerships, and the intensive level of student involvement in the community.

The Small Town Studio of the Department of Architecture was formed in 2012 by Associate Professor Todd Gabbard to engage rural communities across Kansas with student-generated visualization services. Small towns are generally underserved by architects, planners, and designers, said Gabbard, which makes student involvement in these communities an excellent opportunity for towns and students alike. “The work with Eureka and other Kansas communities is an invaluable learning experience for our fifth-year architecture students,” said Gabbard. “The students’ engagement in the background work necessary to make an architectural project viable, such as communicating with clients and stakeholders, building community consensus, and addressing project implementation, will be of tremendous help as they move towards the professional world.” (more)

Cool skins

Gibson's fifth year architectural design studio developing Cool Skin prototypes for testing

Assistant Professor Michael Gibson earns $25,000 NCARB award for research proposal

A Kansas State University College of Architecture, Planning & Design faculty member's proposal for a student-professional-industry collaboration on making buildings more energy efficient is one of three winners of a $25,000 award from the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards. Recipients were selected for developing innovative curricula that merge practice and education.

Michael Gibson, assistant professor of architecture at the college, which is known as APDesign, received the award for his project proposal "Designing for Performance: Research and Innovation in Building Envelopes."

The project seeks to explore the relationship between research and practice by joining forces with leading manufacturers of building envelope systems, Gibson said. (more)