Student Awards

Architecture department celebrates 25th Bowman Design Forum

The architecture department in the College of Architecture, Planning & Design, or APDesign at Kansas State University hosted the 25th Bowman Design Forum on Jan. 17.

Six nominees from Architectural Design Studio 3 showcased their outstanding work from the fall semester of their third year. Sponsored by BBN Architects since 1999, the forum is a platform that recognizes excellence in architectural design.

Read the full story and see the awards


Student Commencement Awards

These awards are presented each year during the commencement ceremony.


The ARCC/King Student Medal for Excellence in Architecture is named in honor of the late Jonathan King, co-founder and first president of the Architectural Research Centers Consortium (ARCC). The award is given to one student per member college. Selection is based upon criteria that acknowledges innovation, integrity, and scholarship in architectural and/or environmental design research. One student/project was nominated from each of the college disciplines.

  • 2023, Kayla Roles (IAPD)
  • 2022, Xing Huang (MLA)
  • 2021, Abbey Hebbert (MRCP)
  • 2020, Lindsey Logan (MRCP)
  • 2019, Kasey Holle (ARCH)
  • 2018, Abigail Reece (IAPD)
  • 2017, Jonathan Knight (MLA)
  • 2014, Deanne Peterson (MLA)
  • 2011, Erica Besler (MRCP)
  • 2010, Christie Murman (MLA)