1. K-State home
  2. »College of Architecture, Planning and Design
  3. »2019 APDesign Design Charrette Competition

College of Architecture, Planning & Design

2019 APDesign Charrette Competition

The College of Architecture, Planning and Design at Kansas State University (APDesign) challenged 12 teams each comprised of three students selected from the four disciplines of APDesign (architecture, interior architecture & product design, landscape architecture, regional & community planning) to a public space/amenity competition for the design of a new outdoor performance venue in the Manhattan City Park. The competition, including scholarship awards, was sponsored by a local philanthropist with the intent of raising interest in building an improved public resource for the greater Manhattan Community.

Awards were given out in the form of scholarships for the top three teams to be split among the students. The first prize award, for $5,000, went to the team named EKM Studio for their project titled “Coda”. Team members include: Emilee Voigt, 5th year, Landscape Architecture, McPherson, KS;
Maggie Schulte, 5th year, Interior Architecture & Product Design, St. Louis, MO; Kathryn Zieno, 5th year, Architecture, Bellevue, NE.

Second place awards went to team AGE Design Group for their project titled “Cuesta”. Team members include: Grant Pasowicz, 3rd year, Landscape Architecture, Overland Park, KS; Emile Batrouny, 3rd year, Interior Architecture & Product Design, Overland Park, KS; Avery Don, 3rd year, Architecture, Overland Park, KS. The second place award was for $3,900 in scholarships.

Third place awards went to team ASK for their project titled “Landwave”. Team members include: August Titus, 3rd year, Landscape Architecture, Montezuma, KS; Solomon Renfro, 4th year, Interior Architecture & Product Design, Manhattan, KS; Kazem Namazi, Post-Bac , Architecture, Iran. Students will split the third place scholarship award of $2,900.

Two honorable mentions were awarded to team Parti_Time with their entry “The Hill”; members included Makenzie Yeager, 4th year, Landscape Architecture, Baldwin, MO; Alison Trent, 5th year, Interior Architecture & Product Design, Kansas City, MO; Tara Bray, 5th year, Architecture, Kirkwood, MO. The second honorable mention was awarded to team Olmstead’s Army for their project “Natures Theater”. The team included Priyasha Shrestha, Post-Bac, Landscape Architecture, Sindhuli, Nepal; Morgan Nicole Nunay, Post-Bac, Regional & Community Planning, Alexandria, KY; and Gaurav Neupane, Post-Bac, Architecture, Itahari, Nepal.

“The jury was energized by the ideas produced in this accelerated 58 hour design charrette, which the students enjoyed the cross-disciplinary collaboration.” Said Tim de Noble, professor and dean for APDesign “The results are testaments to approaching design opportunities through interdisciplinary collaboration. I hope to provide similar opportunities to our students in future intercessions to the benefit of the community.”

Jurors for the event included: Tracy Anderson, AIA; Anderson Knight Architects; Mike Dodson; Mayor, City of Manhattan Kansas; Ron Fehr; City Manager, City of Manhattan Kansas; Karen Hibbard, Director; Manhattan Convention and Visitors Bureau; Phil Howe; Founder, Kansas State Bank; Jenny and Kevin Murdock: Music at the Murdocks.

Images of all the work is below:

AGE Design Group

Grant Pasowicz

Avery Don

Emile Batrouny




Agust Titus

Solomon Renfro

Kazem Namazi


The Challengers

Haley Weinberg

Emily Larocco

Reid Thornburg

The Shell

Dunder Mifflin

Siddarth Jambundathan

Abby Hebbert

Jacquelynn Ruwwe



Dream Designers


Mica Ratzlaff

Eliza Seagrist

Anna Rayburn


Dream Designers 

EKM Studio

Emilee Voigt

Katheryn Zieno

Maggie Schulte



G6 Throwback

Nicholas Ferrara

Dan LicataLogan Steele



G6 Throwback



Timothy Struemph

Makena Rhodes

Patrick McCaffrey



Ashley Akers

Matt Dickman

Chloe Cudney


Olmsted's Army

Gaurav Neupane

Priyasha Shrestha

Morgan Dunay





Tara Bray

Mackenzie Yeager

Alison Trent




Kevin Hartman

Krishan Baniqued

Julie Benyshek