1. K-State home
  2. »APDesign
  3. »About
  4. »Publications
  5. »Weekly Newsletter
  6. »LARCP Newsletter
  7. »Archive
  8. »04.28.14

College of Architecture, Planning and Design



LAR442 students interacting with community stakeholders

Landscape Architecture and Regional & Community Planning
MONDAY MEMO 04.28.14


Please note that the LA Faculty Meeting has been postponed until the third Thursday, May 16. LA faculty will receive a curriculum review survey this week--please plan to respond upon receipt.

Faculty, staff and students are invited to attend the final Nicodemus team celebration, Friday, May 2 at noon in Pierce Commons. The team will present a brief visual synopsis of their proposal and premiere the process video that accompanies the project publication. Members of Nicodemus will be in attendance.

There will be a workday at the Meadow, Sunday, May 11 from 1pm-5pm--come and go as you please. The agenda: remove erosion control socks; plant plugs of new plants and mulch around them; weed gingerly without trampling the plants emerging. Volunteers should dress in clothes that protect their skin from sun, wear sturdy shoes, bring a hat, and gloves.


Dea Brokesh will receive the APDesign Classified Employee of the Year Award at the Classified Employees Awards on April 30 from 2-4 pm, K-State Union Ballroom.

Congratulations to Dr. Tim Keane on receipt of a Professorial Performance Award recognizing his teaching, service and research activity since his promotion to Professor.

Assistant Professor Alpa Nawre recently presented her research "Infrastructure for Sustainable Resource Management: Talaab System" in a panel via Skype at the "Brave New South Asia: Science, Technology and Society" Center for South Asian Studies Annual Symposium at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa.

RCP 3rd year John Heiman's logo design was selected to be used for the Annual APA-KS Conference in October.

Abigail Fiala, MLA 2nd year, has been selected to serve on the 2014 K-State Student Homecoming Committee.

Deanne Petersen, MRCP 5th year, will present her findings on the benefits of food trucks and how cities can modify their policies to encourage food truck activity at the APA Conference on Monday, April 27 from noon-2 pm.

PhD candidate Philip Omunga will defend his dissertation on Friday, May 16 at 10 am in 106c.


Please help Casey Hoeve, Content Development Librarian for Arts, Architecture and the Humanities at K-State, by participating in a survey to determine what types of resources faculty and students in LARCP prefer to use. This short survey is available here.

The Frederick Law Olmsted Symposium: A Discussion on Future Trends in the Design of Sustainable Urban Infrastructure
June 2, 2014, 8:00 – 11:30 a.m. at the Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center in Atlanta, Georgia, the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Georgia Tech kicks off the search for the Frederick L. Olmsted Endowed Chair at the Olmsted Symposium. Join leading experts in sustainable urban infrastructure for a discussion of innovative research and practice as it relates to the genius of Frederick L. Olmsted and his vision for improving the urban environment. Speakers include:

Diane E. Davis, PHD, Professor of Urbanism and Development Graduate School of Design, Harvard University
Howard Frumkin, MD, DRPH, Dean and Professor of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences, University of Washington School of Public Health
Richard Jackson, MD, MPH AIA(HON) ASLA(HON) Chair and Professor of Environmental Health Sciences; University of California, Los Angeles Fielding School of Public Health
Elizabeth S. MacDonald, PHD, Associate Professor of Urban Design; Department of City and Regional Planning, Department of Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning; University of California, Berkley
Lynn A. Richards, MSES, MPA, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Congress for the New Urbanism
Frederick R. Steiner, PHD, Dean of School of Architecture and Henry M. Rockwell Chair in Architecture, University of Texas at Austin
Questions, please contact crystal.hanson@ce.gatech.edu.

Wed May 14 6:00-8 pm Community Workshop, Green Valley Community Center, 3770 Green Valley Road
Thurs May 15 5:30-7 pm Community Update, City Commission Room
Wed July 16 6:00-8 pm, Community Workshop, City Commission Room
Thurs July 17 5:30-7 pm, City Commission Room
Wed Sept 10 6:00-8 pm, Fire Station Headquarters, Large Assembly Room
Thurs Sept 11 5:30-7 pm, City Commission Room
Thurs Nov 20 5:30-7 pm, City Commission Room
Thurs Jan 15 5:30-7 pm, City Commission Room

May 19-20 LARCP Curriculum Review
May 27 - Jul 18 Summer Studio
Mon Aug 18 Beginning of semester faculty meeting
Oct 2-3 Kansas APA in Wichita
Oct 7-9 Extreme LA with Landscape Forms
Oct 19-22 MRCP Re-Accreditation Visit
Oct 30 - Nov 2 ACSP in Philadelphia
Nov 7-8 LA 50th Anniversary Celebration
Nov 13-14 APDesign Research Forum
Nov 21-25 ASLA meeting in Denver


Sat June 7 KS APA Conference presentation proposals due


Thurs May 1, LA Faculty Meeting, postponed until May 16

Thurs May 8, RCP Faculty Meeting, Seaton 106c, 12:30 - 1:30 pm

Thurs May 16, LA Faculty Meeting, Seaton 106c, 12:30 - 1:30 pm

May 19-20, Curriculum Reviews, specifics TBA


Wed Apr 30, Classified Employees Awards, K-State
Union Ballroom, 2-4 pm, Dea Brokesh will
receive the APDesign Classified Employee of the
Year Award
Mon May 5, All University Awards, K-State Alumni Association Ballroom, 3-5 pm, including:
Huston Gibson, Big 12 Faculty Fellowship Award
Stephanie Rolley, Presidential Award for
Outstanding Department Head
and our colleagues Mick Charney, Todd Gabbard and David Richter-O'Connell
Come help us celebrate at both events!
Wed-Thurs Sept 17-18 Built Environment and the Outdoors Summit, Information

302 Seaton Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506-2909