Victor L. Regnier Distinguished Visiting Professorship

The Victor L. Regnier Distinguished Visiting Chair in architecture was established in 2003 by the children of Victor and Helen Regnier to enrich the educational experience of Kansas State University architecture students by exposing them to the finest architects from around the world.

Responsibilities of the Chair are to co-teach a 5th year architecture graduate studio in close cooperation with a Kansas State architecture faculty member. The Chair is also encouraged to contribute to the theory segment of our curriculum through seminar presentations devoted to topics decided between the chair, faculty and students of the 5th year studio program. Exposure to all levels of students will be possible through involvement in reviews, projects or events as might be available. It is expected that at least two formal lectures be presented. One lecture would be delivered on-campus for the Kansas State students, faculty, local professionals and local community. The other lecture would be delivered in the Kansas City metropolitan area, providing exposure to alumni, practicing professionals and the greater Kansas City community with special linkages to the arts.

Successful implementation of the Victor L. Regnier Visiting Chair relies upon a strong, positive communication between the Visiting Chair and the individual K-State architecture faculty member who has expressed special interest in collaborating with the Chair. Experience has shown that the initial campus visit works best approximately one month into the spring semester while a second visit is best no later than one month before the end of the semester. It is highly desirable for the Visiting Chair to return at the end of the spring semester when the Architecture Department holds the annual “super review” of selected graduate projects from all of the studio sections. The Visiting Chair would be asked to lead the discussion of the projects for the super review and would be accompanied by several other distinguished reviewers furnished by the department of architecture.